Skip to content Where Legends Are Made
Research & Economic Development ORED Offices Make a Gift
Farrah Hall

Research Security & Export Control

Sanctions and Embargoes

The U.S. Government imposes sanctions and embargoes on certain countries. U.S. Government-imposed sanctions programs change frequently. If you plan to have any interaction with a sanctioned country, please contact the Office for Research Security & Export Control. Please note that the U.S. Government also imposes sanctions on specific individuals and entities.

These sanctions routinely identified by the Office for Research Security & Export Control or others through a restricted party screening (“RPS”). Please visit the Restricted Parties page for more information, including obtaining an RPS through Descartes Visual Compliance. These sanctions can be categorized into two categories – comprehensive and targeted.

Comprehensive Sanctions

The U.S. Government (through the Office of Foreign Assets Control (“OFAC”) maintains “comprehensive sanctions” that effectively prohibit U.S. persons from participating in most transactions, collaborations, or activities with comprehensively sanctioned countries. With few exceptions, the U.S. Government will bar most transactions, collaborations, or activities involving a comprehensively sanctioned country or individuals and entities from those countries.

Comprehensively Sanctioned Countries
North Korea
Certain Regions of Ukraine (Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia, and Kherson)

Targeted Sanctions

Targeted OFAC sanctions prohibit transactions related to activities with specific parties in these countries are prohibited.

Countries Subject to Targeted Sanctions
BalkansBurma (Myanmar)
BelrasCentral Africa Republic
Democratic Republic of the CongoEthiopia
Hong KongIraq

Military/Space Export Prohibitions

Pursuant to 22 C.F.R. § 126.1, the United States Department of State prohibits the export of military/space equipment or technical data to the following countries, and to nationals of these countries:

Countries Subject to ITAR Prohibitions
AfghanistanBelarusBurma (Myanmar)Central African RepublicChina
Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)CubaDemocratic Republic of the CongoCyprusEritrea
LibyaNorth KoreaSomaliaSouth SudanSri Lanka